Have you ever found yourself in a pickle, wondering if it’s legal to whack that pickleball with your hand? Well, wonder no more! Just like any other esteemed sport, pickleball has a strict set of rules that every player must abide by. And yes, there is a rule regarding body part contact with the ball.
But don’t fret, in this article, we’ll serve up all the details on whether or not you can use your hand to hit the pickleball. Plus, we’ll explore other crucial rules straight from the USAPA Pickleball Rulebook.
So, let’s smash right into it!
Can You Hit A Pickleball With Your Hand?
The answer is both yes and no. To expand on this, let’s refer to the pickleball rule book. According to the rule book, you can hit the ball with your paddle hand if the ball strikes your hand below the wrist. In this case, you will not be penalized.
However, if you hit the ball with part of your hand or arm above the wrist, that will be considered a fault. Also, if the ball hits any other part of the body or clothing of the player, he will be penalized. In such a case, a point will be given to the opponent.
Although hitting the pickleball with part of the hand below the wrist is legal, you should not intentionally attempt to do so.
Catching the Pickleball With Your Hand
Oftentimes, players try and catch the ball midair, assuming that it is out of bounds and cannot be hit. However, this is against the rules and you must avoid it. Do not catch the ball if you feel it is out of reach and let it bounce on the court. The opponent team will automatically lose a point.
Why You Should Avoid Hitting A Pickleball With Your Hand?
Despite the fact that hitting the pickleball with any part of the hand below the wrist is not considered a fault, you should still avoid doing it. This is because you won’t be able to generate enough power and speed to adequately hit the ball towards the opposite team, and it might fly out of the court. This will eventually result in you losing a point.
Secondly, there is a chance that you might twist or hurt your wrist in an attempt to hit it with your hand. However, there is nothing wrong with hitting the pickleball with your hand if it happens unintentionally.
In short, you should always aim to hit the pickleball with your pickleball paddle. But if you fail to do so, there is no harm in hitting it with the part of your hand below the wrist.
If you’re wondering if you can use the other hand while playing Pickleball, check out our guide on “can you switch hands in Pickleball?”.
What Are Illegal Hits In Pickleball?
Being a pickleball player, you must be aware of all the hits that are considered illegal in pickleball. This way you will avoid making errors and losing points. The most significant hit that is deemed illegal in pickleball is when the ball hits the player’s body or clothing before bouncing. This is considered a fault on the part of the player being hit.
Secondly, if a player tries to catch the ball while claiming that it was out of bounds will also be considered illegal. Also, if you hit the ball, but it goes through the net instead of over the net will be considered illegal, and you will lose a point. The same goes for any ball that hits a side post, fence or any other object in the surrounding.
Where Can You Not Hit The Ball In Pickleball?
According to the established rules of pickleball, you can not hit the ball while standing in the Non-Volley Zone or the kitchen. This is the seven-foot zone located on both sides of the net and is known as the Non-Volley Zone or kitchen.
Players are not allowed to volley the ball in this zone or even when in contact with the volley line. However, you can hit the ball in this zone if it bounces once on the court. This rule ensures that players do not smash every shot towards the opponent. Also, note that you can’t hit the pickleball while standing outside the pickleball court.
Can You Hit A Pickleball With Your Body?
The simple answer to this question is no. You are only allowed to hit the pickleball with the paddle or the hand holding the paddle below the wrist. This means you cannot hit xa pickleball with any part of your body. If you try to do so, you will end up losing a point.
To sum it all up, you can actually hit a pickleball with your hand, but it’s best not to deliberately do so. If you hit it with part of your hand above the wrist, that will be considered a fault. Also, if the ball hits any other part of your body, you will be awarded a penalty.
Hence, your first priority should be hitting with the paddle. However, if the ball touches your hand below the wrist, don’t worry, it’s not against the rules!